Wednesday, March 6, 2013

How Long Til Paul Joins The Longest Filibusters?

Currently Senator Rand Paul in now into five straight hours of his filibuster of the vote of John Brennan's nomination to be the new head of the CIA.

In US history, there have been several filibusters in the senate.

Some of them have gone for quite some time, much longer than Paul's has, so far.

Here's a look at the five longest filibusters of the Senate.

  • In 1957, Storm Thrumond of South Carolina, Democrat, filibustered the Civil Rights Act of 1957 for twenty-four hours and eighteen minutes.
  • In 1986, Alfonse D'Amato of New York, Republican, filibustered an amendment to a defense for twenty-three hours and thirty minutes.
  • In 1953, Wayne Morse of Oregon, Democrat, filibustered a bill to give states control over oil leases for twenty-two hours and twenty-six minutes.
  • In 1908, Robert LaFollette of Wisconsin, Republican, filibustered a bill that would have allowed the US Treasury to lend money to banks for eighteen hours and twenty-three minutes.
  • In 1981, William Proxmire of Wisconsin, Democrat, filibustered against raising the nation's debt limit for sixteen hours and twelve minutes.

No comments:

Post a Comment