Saturday, February 4, 2012

2011 NFL Awards

With a final vote of 48 to 2, Aaron Rodgers is the National Football League's Most Valuable Player for 2011. Rodgers led the NFL in passing with a 122.5 rating, 45 touchdown passes, six interceptions and a 68.3 completion percentage as the Packers went 15-1 and won the NFC North. He is the fifth Packer to win the award. Bart Starr, Jim Taylor, Paul Hornung and Brett Favre have been given it previously. This is also the fifth year in a row that a quarter back has been voted MVP. Tom Brady of the Patriots won it in both 2007 and 2010, with the Colts Peyton Manning taking it the two years between.

Other awards went to the Saints Drew Brees for Offensive Player of the Year. Terrell Suggs of the Ravens received Defensive Player of the Year. Offensive Rookie of the Year went to Panther Cam Newton, while the Defensive Rookie of the Year was split between Bronco Von Miller and Aldon Smith of the 49ers. Lion Matthew Stafford won the Comeback Play of the Year and Coach of the Year went to Jim Harbaugh of the 49ers.